Shiba Inus – Shi-ba What?

So, I mention in my welcome message about Shiba Inus and wanted to tell you more about them. I was gonna on and on about Shiba’s but I think I’ll save you the trouble and only tell you briefly what they are and tell you in other posts more about them and our Shiba Inu, Shoko. (Pictured below)

Shiba Inu named Shoko

Curious Shoko

Shiba Inu’s originated from Japan and is even their national dog. The name is Japanese for Brushwood Dog because of their red colored fur.

What makes them so popular in Japan?

I want to say their small size (I say small but they are still a medium size dog) is perfect for Japan’s small living spaces and apartment living. I’ve even been told that by people who meet Shoko that they love her size because she is small but not too small.They are also good watchdogs since they are territorial and loyal to their owners and wary of strangers. I don’t believe they are classified by the AKC as watchdogs but from their personality traits I would say they are watchdogs.

Even our Shoko will bark with suspicious noises or people.

This breed comes in 3 main colors red/white (cream), black/tan, or pure white. Shoko’s fur is a bit of a mix of the red and black which is called red sesame because she has the red fur but some fur has black tips.

Their most unique features are their small build, pointy triangular shaped ears, their curly tail, and cat-like characteristics. You might even say their face looks like a fox.

They are a great dog to have, if you are looking for a companion dog but they need someone who can be the calm and firm pack leader otherwise they will be running you around instead. They are definitely not for first time pet owners because they are an independent and stubborn breed. They are a wicked smart breed so you need to keep their mind occupied so they don’t destroy your home and have them go out for daily walks and maybe play in a local dog park to expend their energy.

I could go on about the pros and cons of having a Shiba Inu but for now I’ll stop it here and I hope I’ve perked your interest in Shiba Inus and would happy to talk more about them in the comments section. I will post more about them another day.

Have a lovely weekend everyone!

Leave a comment